“Beautiful Wildflowers”


As of this Saturday I will have done my third wedding in seven weeks with more to follow in the fall, I have also shot numerous portrait and other miscellaneous photographic work,  and I am really starting to miss what I first got into photography for and that was the nature side of it.

I have actually enjoyed the portrait side of photography, except for the endless editing, but you just can’t beat a cool spring morning hiking into  the wet green world of a Clifty Falls Canyon and photographing a beautiful stand of Wild Columbine or Trillium.  As beautiful as the weddings I have been a part of so far the real beauty of the natural world far outshines anything man can put together, not that I don’t enjoy my new gig, you just can’t replace the world outside our doorsteps.

This is a image of one of my favorite little wildflowers..The Blue-Eyed Mary, these little beauties grow in clusters along the creek bottoms that carve their way thru the hills and gorges that make up Southern Indiana. I shot these in Clifty Falls State Park near Madison Indiana one beautiful spring morning, it was one of those mornings when the fog hung close to the ground and the colors in the woods were so saturated and vivid you just  couldn’t feel more alive !!

That’s one of my favorite things about photography, just when I needed a break from the hectic world I live in now all I have to do is pull out some old files and the memories of a great day in the woods come flooding back to help you get thru the boredom of everyday life. Thanks for stopping by and taking a look, as always click on the image for best viewing !!

9 thoughts on ““Beautiful Wildflowers”

  1. Photo Buffet

    Bernie, I’ve really missed seeing nature photos from you, too, but your photoblog is so full of past treks, I can come here anytime for some R&R.

    I couldn’t agree more if I tried; there’s nothing like getting out in nature early in the day and soaking up all that beauty. God sure did a good job, didn’t He?

    I’m happy that you’re helping couples record their wedding day, but hope somewhere along the line you can break away and return to nature photography, too. It’s like fishing–empties the brain and relaxes the person behind the lens.

    Take care!
    Bonnie

    Reply
  2. Pingback: “Beautiful Wildflowers” (via BFK Photography) « Visions of Southern Indiana

Leave a Reply

