Madison Indiana Photography

“Virginia Bluebells”


As I sit here staring out the window onto a cold ,wet lifeless landscape my mind can’t help but to wander back to last spring when the woods and hills that surround my home here in Madison Indiana were ablaze with the vibrant colors of early spring !!

The lush greens of the newly emergent foliage along with the beautiful colors of the blooms that adorn them always help to drive away the somber mood of late winter, especially after a long cold winter, bringing with it the anticipation of a warm and welcoming season I have longed far too long for.

Nearly every color is represented by this natural wonder that bestows the valley I live in, from the early season whites of the Bloodroot to the late season red of the Wild Columbine, the color palette of this natural display never seems to disappoint even in bad weather conditions there is still plenty of beautiful color to be photographed !!

If you are a macro photographer there is no better time of year to ply your craft, there is nothing more beautiful than a wildflower bloom freshly conceived from it’s bud and to be able to photograph it in it’s newly formed appearance is an amazing feet to be able to produce and witness.

I photographed this lovely Virgina Bluebell just as it began it’s journey thru it’s life process, from it’s emergence from the soil till it’s ultimate decay and death, I am trully blessed to live in an are where I can witness and photograph such a wonderful process.

Hopefully within a month I will be able to bring you this years edition of the wildflowers of Southern Indiana.  I thought I might leave you with a quote from a wonderful artist by the name of Georgia O’Keeffe who’s flower paintings  are world renowned and is widely viewed as one of Americas greatest artists…

When you take a flower in your hand and really look at it,
it’s your world for the moment. I want to give that world to
someone else.  Most people in the city rush around so,
they have no time to look at a flower.  I want them to see
it whether they want to or not.
–   Georgia O’Keeffe

February 23, 2011 - Posted by | abstract, art, blue, bluebells, calla lily, Clifty Falls, flora, floral, flower photography, flowers, hiking, indiana, indiana photographers, indiana wildflowers, macro photography, Madison Indiana, madison indiana photographers, madison indiana photography, madison indiana wedding photographers, nature, nature photography, photography, virginia bluebells, West Street Art Center

4 Comments »

  1. They’re so beautiful, Bernie. I WISH we had those here! You’re absolutely right about all of the wonderful colors in nature, of course. I saw my first aster the other day & some kind of small, yellow flower. It has begun. 🙂 Today I noticed the clover & Carolina cranesbill coming back to my yard. Ahhhhhhhhh.

    Comment by Lana | February 23, 2011 | Reply

    • You are beating me to it Lana…but we won’t be far behind, I hope !!

      Comment by Bernie Kasper | February 26, 2011 | Reply

  2. Thanks for sharing the promise of Spring. We have some Crocus blooming here in East Tennessee and it won’t be long before wildflowers are busting out all over. The Virginia Bluebells are some of my favorites.

    Comment by Richard Siggins | February 24, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks Richard..can’t wait as well and Bluebells are amazing to photograph !!

      Comment by Bernie Kasper | February 26, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

