Madison Indiana Photography

“First Clifty Falls Wildflowers”


Finally… After hurting my back last Saturday and a thousand other things going on in my life right now I was finally able to make it out to Clifty Falls State park in Madison Indiana this evening to get in on a little wildflower photography for the first time this year !!

And even though the flowers are really early and they are calling for a cool down the next few days it was an absolutely wonderful evening to get out the house and into the woods. My back hurt my mobility and kept me from going to my favorite haunts but I was able to capture a few shots of the early favorites that make their appearance on the forest floor before the big show next month.

I was able to capture these Rue Anenome as they just started to unfurl their beautiful blooms for all the world to see, they are very hard subject to photograph because of their small size and for their innate ability to never stop moving after they get caught by a breeze !!

These little gems have the coolest detail in their stamens and to be able to capture a sharp image of the center of the bloom is a prize anytime I can accomplish it. I was also able to photograph a couple of Bloodroot flowers which I will save for a later post, hopefully this will shape up  to be a  great wildflower season and I will be able to share it with you.

Thanks for stopping by and taking a look, and for better viewing click on image for best size.

 

 

 

 

March 23, 2011 - Posted by | art, Clifty Falls, DSLR, floral, flower photography, flowers, hiking, indiana, indiana photographers, indiana wildflowers, macro photography, madison indiana photographers, madison indiana photography, nature, nature photography, photographer, photography, random, thoughts, travel, West Street Art Center, wildflowers

10 Comments »

  1. Beautiful! At last spring os here!

    Comment by Howard Grill | March 23, 2011 | Reply

  2. Lovely images of this little flower.

    Comment by Anita Bower | March 23, 2011 | Reply

  3. Lovely photos, Bernie. I really like the first one with perfectly sharp central part and not so dark background. The second photo has probably slightly shifted/moved POF because the frontal part is slightly out of focus. But maybe it was breeze. I know how difficult it is to take good photo of anemone. If wind doesn’t spoil it then it’s pretty hard to find a decent composition. I have NO anemone shot so far even though I tried in past years. I’ll try it again this year. We have a small creek some 200m from our house. The creek is hidden in the wetlands and trees and there is whole sea of white anemones around it every year.

    Comment by Tomas Turecek | March 26, 2011 | Reply

    • I agree Tomas shooting a Anemone in the wind is almost impossible to do, good luck in your search for one !!

      Comment by Bernie Kasper | March 30, 2011 | Reply

  4. I’m sorry you hurt your back & hope you’re back in the pink ASAP! The photos are lovely, as is the subject matter. 🙂

    Comment by Lana | March 26, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks Lana as of today I am out and about again, just wish the weather would cooperate as well !!

      Comment by Bernie Kasper | March 30, 2011 | Reply

  5. wow i love these singles…

    Comment by ankush | April 18, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

