Madison Indiana Photography

Butterflies


Since I woke up to a dreary cold mid-winter Madison Indiana landscape I thought a nice warm spring pic would brighten up your day…at least it might mine !!

I shot this one early last May om beautiful day warm spring day somewhere in the eastern part of Jefferson County Indiana, I believe it was at Splinter Ridge Wildlife Area. The butterflies were on the move that day and no matter how hard I worked to get the right shot they were so spooky even the stateliest approach sent them scurrying for new flowers to feed on. It was the same pattern time after time, spot butterfly make my approach watch butterfly fly off.

After the continued futile effort of this method of photography I finally decided to just find a nice spot, open my diet coke and sit back and hope for the best at a predestined spot.  And to my complete surprise after just a few minutes these two beautiful  Great Spangled Fritillaries  landed directly in front of me and began to feed. Even though I was never able to get them with both faces in the frame the shot did come out quite well.

So I guess the moral of the story could be “good things come to those who wait” or  ” sit on butt open diet coke get lucky go home” I think in this instance more of the latter lol !!

Thanks for stopping by and taking a look.

 

                                                                                                                                                         butterflies 1 2012

January 14, 2013 - Posted by | art, Butterfly, Clifty Falls State Park, flower photography, flowers, hiking, indiana photographers, indiana wildflowers, landscapes, Madison Indiana, madison indiana photographers, madison indiana photography, nature, nature photography, photographer, photography, state parks, thoughts, travel, West Street Art Center, wildflowers | , , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Frittilaries and Diet Coke! Perfect combo!

    Comment by Bo Mackison | January 16, 2013 | Reply

  2. the butterfly photo is very nice….Go Cats! Here is my site: http://YoWonder.com
    I have some photography there too….I’m an amateur though!

    Comment by Ty | March 23, 2013 | Reply

    • Thanks for stopping by and I will definitely check out your site, been a rough year for the BBN but I think next year could be special !!

      Comment by Bernie Kasper | March 26, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

