Madison Indiana Photography

The Iceman Cometh


Did you think you were going to get a review of the 1938 Eugene O”Neil play or something, sorry no chance of that I am talking about the Ice Man outside my door right now !!

My last few posts have been rather warm and spring like with the butterflies and light summer colors. But now we are talking about a return to old man winter and just how bad it can get. Now mind you I don’t live along the arctic circle or anything near that but tonight we are talking very cold into the single digits with wind chills well below zero !!  Ans with snow and ice forecast later in the week I thought it might be a good time to post something a little more seasonal.

This image was shot  during one of our ice storms from a storm a couple of winters back and I have always been partial to this image and it’s representation of the great color contrast you can get with snow and ice.  I love the warm berries in this shot and how well they contrast against the cool blue in the snow and ice.

So if we are going to get stuck with this nasty weather hopefully I will be able to get out and get a few more shots like this to add to my portfolio of winter images.

Winter Berry 4

January 21, 2013 - Posted by | art, Clifty Falls, Clifty Falls State Park, indiana photographers, macro, macro photography, madison indiana photography, nature, nature photography, photography, thoughts, travel, West Street Art Center | , , , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. Wonderful colors. Who would expect red, white and blue in winter? The ice formations and textures are lovely.

    Comment by Anita Bower | January 21, 2013 | Reply

  2. Great image. I like the out of focus red berries scattered throughout the background. I don’t know about you, but I am ready for spring already.

    Comment by Howard Grill | January 21, 2013 | Reply

  3. Great color and I love this photo!!!

    Comment by scott2608 | January 22, 2013 | Reply

  4. I think those are Hawthorn berries, eh?

    MDW

    Comment by MDW | January 26, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

