Madison Indiana Photography

Black-Eyed Susan


Continuing with my series of shots from my back yard here is a image I captured of a Black-Eyed Susan that I photographed one evening not too long ago. I was able to isolate the blooms against a new privacy fence my neighbors up the street constructed, the fence was made out of a warm wood and  with  the setting sun i couldn’t have asked for a better background for my subject.

I like to keep my backgrounds as soft and clutter free as possible and with the distance between the fence and my subject it worked out perfectly. The late evening light was just an added bonus to my final image the warmth in the flower and the soft warm evening light played off each other nicely and helped contribute to this strong image.

Never been a huge fan of Black-Eyed Susan’s but I felt this image was the best one of this lovely perennial that I have ever attempted. It has been a great year for flowers here in Madison Indiana, the weather has been perfect and with all the great subjects I am getting some really nice work for my portfolio, thanks for stopping by and taking a look at my photography!!

 

 

                                                                                                                                                                               bes 1 2013

 

 

 

August 20, 2013 - Posted by | art, flower photography, flowers, garden, indiana photographers, indiana wildflowers, landscapes, macro, macro photography, madison indiana photographers, madison indiana photography, nature, nature photography, photographer, photography, sunset, thoughts, West Street Art Center, wildflowers | , , , , , , ,

13 Comments »

  1. The warm glow of this image is what I like best–warm, happy, summer!

    Comment by Anita Bower | August 20, 2013 | Reply

  2. I am just your opposite, I do like Black-eyed Susans and this image really is a pleasing look at them, Bernie. Very nice.

    Comment by Steve Gingold | August 21, 2013 | Reply

  3. I am a sucker for yellow and these are just stunningly beautiful in the way you photographed them, Bernie.

    Hmmm…you know with Autumn approaching, I have some interesting stuff in my backyard. I will get on my safari outfit and head out the backdoor this weekend.

    Comment by Scott Thomas Photography | August 22, 2013 | Reply

    • The older I get the better the backyard looks to me sometimes Scott lol !!

      Comment by Bernie Kasper | August 22, 2013 | Reply

      • I hear ya! BTW, you using a macro lens for these photos from your backyard? If so, which one? Thanks!

        Comment by Scott Thomas Photography | August 22, 2013

  4. I am using a Sigma 150 mm 2.8 macro, I have beaten this lens up pretty badly and it just keeps doing it’s job !!

    Comment by Bernie Kasper | August 22, 2013 | Reply

  5. Good composition

    Comment by logphotography | August 22, 2013 | Reply

  6. Beautiful photo. Have you tried do them in black and white? They have amazing shadows that really pop in this format.

    Comment by dweezer19 | August 26, 2013 | Reply

    • That’s a great idea I might have to convert some files, thanks !!

      Comment by Bernie Kasper | August 27, 2013 | Reply

  7. The yellow on yellow is a great combination.

    Comment by themofman | September 7, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

