More Butterflies


Just continuing on with my backyard theme, here are few more Butterflies I have been able to photograph in my butterfly garden this year. Still no Monarchs but the ones I have been shooting have been really beautiful and a blast to work with.

These are three different species, each one is beautiful in its own right and each can be really tough to photograph. It seems the smaller the species the faster and more complicated it becomes lol !!

And so far it’s been a great year but I am still not finding any of my favorite Butterflies and that’s The Monarch, reports are that the population is down about 60% and I think I believe hat number, they have all but been invisible to me this year.  Hopefully I will still be able to photograph a few before the season ends here in Madison Indiana and they continue on their migration south into Mexico.

Hope you enjoy my images and thanks for stopping by and taking a look at my blog !!

 

 

                                                                                                                                                                          sulphor 1 2012Cabbage Sulphur

 

 

 

                                                                                                                                                                         bfly 2 2013

Pearl Crescent

blue 1 2013

Eastern Tailed Blue

10 thoughts on “More Butterflies

  1. Steve Gingold

    These are all really very nice, Bernie. Pearl Crescents are pretty numerous here and I am glad. I never get tired of seeing them. Like you, I have not been seeing Monarchs at all. My milkweeds have been covered with Milkweed Tussocks but nary a Monarch.

    Reply
  2. tomwhelan

    The Pearl Crescent looks great and the others are nice. Monarchs are scarce this year so far. There were some very early sightings in June, but the flood of fall Monarchs migrating out hasn’t happened yet. In most years, the third week in September is whne you should be seeing them in numbers.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

