“Deception”

I stared out early this summer morning on a long hike up the mountainside, after three hours of back breaking hiking I slid off my back pack and camera equipment for a much needed rest. The beautiful light was just starting to build and it looked to be a good morning of photography.

I worked my way over the misty ridge in search of a flower shrouded landscape shot, but the clouds moved in and all I could accomplish was a scene of wild daisies that dotted the mountaintop meadow. What a wonderful day it was to be in the Great Smokey Mountains and being able to photograph such a beautiful environment, or was it ?

Now for the real story, I got up this morning before my wife left for work and walked four blocks down to the banks of the Ohio River in my hometown of Madison Indiana hoping to get a fog shrouded river shot. But instead with no fog present this morning I decided to head back home and go to bed, along the way I stopped for a diet mountain dew and a blueberry bagel, kinda hurts the purpose of the diet dew doesn’t it, and made my way back up the street to my house.

I decided to take a short cut thru the alley and came across an abandoned old car and garage with all the windows and siding knocked off. And it was here I came across my beautiful meadow of wild daisies, a patch about 4 x 4 feet, just glistening in the early morning dew.

I quickly shot off a few frames and continued on home, after loading the images into my computer it became apparent to me on what a deception photography can be sometimes. Many of or not all of the images I get are never exactly what I see when I shoot them, it is not something I go out and do intentionally, but it always seems to end up that way.

I think that is why I love photography so much, the ability to be able to take a scene or subject and somehow improve upon it’s beauty thru a camera’s lens. I guess some purists would find that objectionable but I guess art is in the eye of the beholder, I was just wondering what your thoughts on this are ?