White Trillium (Trillium flexipes)

I thought I might share some more wildflower images with you, so far this has been a great year except for the little cold front we got two days ago that kinda of slowed the bloom down a bit, but other than that the flowers have been beautiful and have made for some great subjects.

Just yesterday I found the trillium’s have started to bloom, I believe this is the White Erect Trillium, this is one of the larger species and with it’s very nature they make a great subject too shoot because of their propensity to stand tall and erect to expose the bloom to  photographers and flower aficionados. They grow on hillsides and moist forest floors making for a great contrast against the ever expanding green color of the environment they flourish in.

I shot this one in Clifty Falls State Park, where I shoot most of my wildflowers anymore, this one I found standing on a boulder overlooking the forest like a King over it’s domain. Its easy to spot these beautiful giants because of their large size and unique appearance they stand out well against the forest floor.

Clifty Falls Sate park has been a blaze of color from the wildflowers this year, but the show won’t last long so if you are close and would like to travel somewhere to see a small marvel of nature try Clifty Falls  it’s close to Historic Madison Indiana and it would  well worth your time.

Thanks for stopping by !!

UPDATE !!!!!

I got the real ID on this from Tom Arbour,   Thanks for helping out.

http://hiramtom.blogspot.com/

large-white-trillium-1-20091