Indiana Wildflowers (wild phlox)


If I am not boring you yet I thought I might share another wildflower with you, Wild Phlox, this is another beautiful little flower that grows in small clusters and has a beautiful purple color too it. I love how the colors in the bloom contrast with the deep greens of the forest floor, many times I find this one amongst the dry dead leaves but this bunch had a great bg I could take advantage of.

In some places they grow so in such large masses it seems if the ground is covered in purple, and the sweet aroma of these little jewels is a wonder too behold as well. They are definitely worth the effort to get out and find among the hills and woods of the area you live, and if you can’t find any close I am sure a short drive will get you someplace to see them.

It won’t be long before all the spring wildflowers have come and gone, but it has been a joy to get out in the woods and photograph and enjoy all the beauty that lies beneath our feet, hopefully we will get some rain and I can get out in Clifty Falls ans get some beautiful steam and waterfall shots or may be just take a stroll thru Historic Madison Indiana and get some  image from all the beautiful homes and buildings.

wild-phlox-1-20091

Thanks for stopping by and taking a look !!

18 thoughts on “Indiana Wildflowers (wild phlox)

  1. Very pretty flower, Bernie. And I like the greenery surrounding them. Is the Wild Phlox the same flower as Periwinkle? They look very similar.

  2. Hi Bernie!
    Wild Phlox is one of my favorite surprises in wooded areas. So pretty, and usually long-lasting. This photo is lovely–the light directly on the blossoms and then muted on leaves is just right.

  3. I hope you are having a great season Michael, I am sure you are coming across alot of these flowers sitting out in the woods, thanks for stopping by and taking a look..

    Take care !!

  4. Wonderful contrasting colors and lighting here Bernie!
    I have not seen any of these little beauties in a very long time around here.
    Guess I need to go more upstate to find them.

    Keep shootin’em up buddy! 🙂

    Michael

  5. I love, love, love (wait?… did I mention love…) the depth of color here. For some reason I am so drawn to darkness and this shot captures it well. Hell, maybe I’m part werewolf..?? I love that almost velvet dark green there combined with that thick blue. Thank you for shooting this so amazingly well and my new wish? I find one of these myself. ;o) Not likely considering my location but hey, a chick can wish. (p.s. what did Hannibal Lecter say? “We begin by coveting what we see…”):)

  6. Beautiful picture! These grow in the woods behind my house. I transplanted some in my flower beds last spring, and they are doing very well. I love to walk in the woods this time of year!

  7. I have checked out sevaral of your images and just figured out how to leave a comment on this one. I love the dutchmans breeches closeup you posted a while back as well as many of your wildflowers. You have some really nice shots. I also appreciate your enthusiasm for the widlflowers. Thanks.

Leave a comment